Ronan Keating must be one of the most well known artists ever, having had a successful 25 year career with ‘boy band’ Boyzone, as well as an equally successful solo career that has seen him sell over twenty million albums worldwide.

Two years in the making, his eleventh studio album, Twenty Twenty is a celebration of his twenty year solo career so it is no surprise that it includes songs that have allowed him to be where he is today; one of the most respected singer songwriters of our generation.

But this album doesn’t pull up any trees. It is a must have for the Keating fans of which there are many, but the tracks on this album, he could deliver with his eyes closed. That’s not to say this isn’t worth listening to, in fact the opening track, Forever Ain’t Enough, displays endearing lyrics, violin parts that makes the song wholesome and to bring it to an end, an uplifting crescendo finish.

Little Thing Called Love is just one of the original songs on the album and for some of the new tracks; Ronan has called in some of his celebrity friends. First up is One Of A Kind with Emeli Sande, of which there are two versions on this album. The first is a piano led ballad and the other an orchestral version. Both are beautiful but the latter is driven forward with its choral backing vocals, string excerpts and those goose bump inducing vocals between Keating and Sande.

Giving country music an airing, the country legend Shania Twain joins him on a cover of Randy Travis’ Forever And Ever, Amen which is followed by the toe tapping Love Will Remain with Nashville star Clare Bowen. The One with Nina Nesbitt’s top harmonies reinforces the magic of the song, whilst The Big Goodbye featuring Robbie Williams is a very touching dedication to Stephan Gately, Keating’s band mate who sadly passed away in 2009. With its powerful emotive lyrics, this is undoubtedly the best original song on the album.

The latter half of the album sees Keating return to three of his classic singles from his solo career. The fun and sunny Lovin’ Each Day is given a lustrous make over with some dance music flourishes and brings a fresh new feel to something very familiar. His smash hit ballad When You Say Nothing At All of Notting Hill fame features Ed Sheeran on guitar and utilises the multi faceted talents of Alison Krauss who brings the song alive.

Life Is A Roller Coaster is also given an overhaul. Where the previous version was firmly in pop rock land, this one has been given a great disco rework to celebrate its twentieth birthday. Finishing off with Something Wonderful, Twenty Twenty is an album that does everything it says it should do on the tin, but regrettably very little more.

Number of tracks: 13

Running time: 47:36

Released on: Decca Records

Release date: 24th July 2020

Formats: MP3/CD/Cassette

To purchase:

Our Rating: 3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5)